Jokowi-Ma'ruf Amin officially become president and vice president

id jokowi maruf amin inauguration,President and Vice President of Indonesia 2019 2024 ,Prabowo Subianto and Sandiaga Uno.

Jokowi-Ma'ruf Amin officially become president and vice president

President Joko Widodo attended the inauguration ceremony of the president and vice president at the Nusantara Building, the Parliament complex, Senayan, Jakarta, Sunday (10/20/2019). ANTARA/Akbar Nugroho Gumay

Jakarta (ANTARA) - Joko Widodo and Ma'ruf Amin had officially taken oaths as Indonesia's president and vice president for the 2019-2024 term at a swearing-in ceremony taking place at the parliament building in Jakarta on Sunday.

"By God, I swear, I will fulfill the obligations of the President of the Republic of Indonesia fairly. I will uphold the constitution and carry out all the laws and regulations as straight as possible and serve the homeland and the nation," Joko Widodo read the president's oath witnessed by Chief Justice Of Supreme Court.

After that, it was Ma'ruf Amin's turn to read the oath.

Both of them along with the People's Consultative Assembly (MPR) speaker and deputy speakers then signed the minutes of the president's inauguration. 

With the reading of the oaths of office and the signing of the minutes of inauguration, Joko Widodo and Ma'ruf Amin had officially become the President and Vice President of the Unitary State of the Republic of Indonesia.

Witnessed by the ranks of the MPR, Ministers of Working Cabinet I, heads of state institutions, several foreign leaders, and other invited guests, Joko Widodo and Ma'ruf Amin took their oaths of office.

Baca juga: Chinese Vice President to attend Jokowi-Amin inauguration

Joko Widodo and Ma'ruf Amin officially became the President and Vice President of the Republic of Indonesia after winning the 2019 Presidential Election, defeating Prabowo Subianto and Sandiaga Uno.

The Joko Widodo-Ma'ruf Amin pair won 85,607,362 votes or 55.5 percent of the legitimate votes.  This pair's total number of votes were higher than those gained by the Prabowo-Sandi pair that received 68,650,239 votes or 45.5 percent of legitimate votes.

The Prabowo-Sandi camp challenged the General Elections Commission's (KPU's) presidential vote counts at the Constitutional Court regarding the result but  the final decision of the Constitutional Court still rejected the entire lawsuit of Prabowo and Sandi.

Thanks to the goodwill of Prabowo Subianto and incumbent President Joko Widodo, a national reconciliation between the two camps could then be promoted. 

Both Prabowo Subianto and his former running mate, Sandiaga Uno, also attended the presidential inauguration. This historic event was also attended by the fifth Indonesian President Megawati Soekarnoputri, the sixth Indonesian President Susilo Bambang Yudhoyono, the eleventh Vice President Boediono and the ninth Vice President Hamzah Haz.

Several heads of state also witnessed Jokowi's inauguration, including Australian Prime Minister Scott Marrison, Singapore Prime Minister Lee Hsioen Loong, Malaysian Prime Minister Mahathir Mohammad, Brunei Sultan Sultan Hassanal Bolkiah, King eSwatini, Mswati III, Chinese Vice President Wang Qishan, and the United States Minister of Transportation Elaine Chao.

In addition, ambassadors from friendly countries representing their respective leaders also attended the inauguration of President Joko Widodo and Vice President Ma'ruf Amin.

Baca juga: Apindo welcomes Jokowi's plan of a young cabinet line-up
Pewarta :
Editor: Achmad Zaenal M